The second post of the Albums & Ice Cream series features Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band, since it’s the 50th anniversary of the music changing album from the Beatles. It goes without saying that the paired ice cream is strawberry.

My parents weren’t fans of the group, but it was impossible to not hear it. We have a couple of copies of it in various iterations; vinyl, CDs. I take tracks from it to my iPod for long walks on a treadmill. Still, it was great to sit and listen to it with full concentration; in awe of the innovative sounds and artistry.

There are no shortage of articles and reflections to aid my reflection. Rolling Stone names it the best album of all time. But to list all of the articles I’ve come across would be pure folly. There’s only 2-3 other references I want to mention. My friend’s book, Beatles Gear: All the Fab Four’s Instruments from Stage to Studio (Andy Babiuk, 2015). This book unlocks the secrets of their sound through expertly researched cataloging of their guitars, drums, amps, etc., throughout the band’s evolution. The book is a labour of love; and a treasure to have. Being married to a sound engineer, I’ve also had a ready reference to ask about tape looping or other ways Sir George Martin created those mysterious sounds pre-computer.

Last night, we tripped on the PBS broadcast of Sgt. Pepper’s Musical Revolution.

The entire BBC documentary probably will be shown again. Just get ready for a heavy amount of interruptions for fundraising. But since public broadcasting depends on viewer contribution – that’s how it goes. The documentary only runs 45 minutes, just in case you were wondering. It’s worth watching. I’m going to keep my eye out for a second broadcast. There’s so much great information. The host, Howard Goodall is such an inspiring audience guide. Here’s a link to it’s official website for your own reference.

I had been planning on the strawberry ice cream pairing since hearing promotions on the Beatles’ Sirius XM station. I set out to search for the best strawberry ice cream I could find. Luckily I came across a food blogger who had done the same search and tested multiple recipes and techniques. Since he was so generous to document and share his findings, who am I to dispute his claim to the best recipe?

I had a box of grocery strawberries, but I knew I needed local, in season berries. I couldn’t wait for the beginning of our summer CSA (which will include strawberries), so Steve and I headed to the Easton farmer’s market. The trip inspired a whole bunch of other blog posts; and also a firm kick in the butt for the upcoming launch.

This is why you need to only make strawberry ice cream when the berries are in season:

The recipe has a few time consuming tasks. I found chopping the fruit into tiny pieces for mulling with a bit of alcohol (I used 1/2 Tito’s and 1/2 Limoncello), was calming. The step that took the longest was pushing the pureed berries through a fine strainer. It was worth it. I couldn’t wait for it to be fully set before writing this post.

I’ll update the picture and the post tomorrow with a new picture of firmer ice cream. But for now, I’ll slurp up a little bit more. Dang, it’s delicious! (Thanks, Max!)

***
75 of 100

Share your thoughts - I'd love to know them

