As I near the 75% completion of the 100 posts in 100 days challenge, I find myself wondering why I haven’t felt accomplished in other areas. I think it may be a need to review the writing, and to reflect on more than a daily idea.

I think some of this feeling is amplified by a few years of searching for the right kind of journal that helps me strategize projects that I layer into weekly to-do lists and to keep track of large goals.

About 18 months ago, I found a life planner on Kickstarter. I got sucked into promises of focus and achievement if I only kept disciplined. It’s not that I haven’t tried other planners, or daily time management techniques. Heck, I started that when I was in college. The author of this planner was convincing on his sales pitch. The challenge I have with the life planner, was that the template became more work to maintain it that use it for planning and reference. I still go back to it, only out of obligation that I bought it and I should fill it in. So it’s a reminder for guilt on many levels.

I have also researched bullet journals. The samples I found are gorgeous; and designed by artists. I am not a designer. I like color coded things and flexibility to allow for creative spontaneity without drifting too far from tasks necessary to deliver ideas. So I’ve looked for other planners. Here’s one, and another one. I think I like the Passion Planner, but I don’t want to invest in another template until I really spend some time figuring out what tasks need to get done (and by when) in order to achieve the things I really want to do.

I have to call my own BS for what it is; procrastination. A planner isn’t going to magically fix my issues. So I’m going to return to a book that I started and quit, The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. I have a good friend who is going to read it as well. I think by going through the chapters and get back to hand writing morning pages, I’ll be able to give myself some time to dig through some creative barriers. And then make a plan with realistic milestones and just. friggin. deliver on things I keep saying I want to do.

If it turns out that all I need is a spiral bound notebook. Bully!

***
74 of 100

3 thoughts on “What I’m Researching – June 3

  1. I love looking at the beautiful examples of bullet journals on Instagram but I’ve learnt that I need something practical that means I get stuff done rather than spending hours planning what I’m going to do. Might be worth looking at some of the more minimalist examples. Good luck in your quest to become organised and productive!

  2. I’ve started a bullet journal for work and just use a spiral-bound notebook. That way I’m not locked into any one format or template and I can organize the pages as I need them to be organized. My pages certainly aren’t works of art, but I am better able to visualize what needs to get done by when. Maybe, eventually, I’ll graduate to a “real” bullet journal. 😉

Share your thoughts - I'd love to know them

