I’ve been wanting to see Jordan Peele’s “Get Out” since the previews last summer.

It’s time for a young African American to meet with his white girlfriend’s parents for a weekend in their secluded estate in the woods, but before long, the friendly and polite ambience will give way to a nightmare.

We watched the movie as a family. I held my jumps and screams in or I’d be watching the rest of the summer scary movies alone. The movie does have a few “gotchya” moments; more from the music than the directing. Stick around for the alternate ending after the credits. The director narrates it. I found this enlightening, like an artist’s statement.

Love Jordan Peel’s work with Keegan Key on their Comedy Central show. It’s a wonder what these guys are thinking about post Obama administration. I miss their humor pointing out the ridiculousness of our culture with topics of race and gender.

As I was researching the movie, I found a few sources left over from the Key & Peele series; like their Dictionary Hub. The site even has .gifs from some of my favorite sketches – like “Substitute Teacher.”

“Get Out”  is streaming for $5.99 HD on Amazon.

I’m curious to know what movies you might be watching.

Let the Memorial Day weekend begin…

***
66 of 100

Share your thoughts - I'd love to know them

