What I’m Eating – May 7

Now that I’m firmly on the other side of a wicked stomach bug, I’m trying to get back into a normal food routine for the entire family. The refrigerator and cupboards are inspiringly empty.

Farmer’s markets have started. And it’s time to sign up for the summer CSA program. I’m also thinking about switching up the shopping routine; looking for the best way to keep grocery bills low.

I collect ideas from various social media sources, and also look to other food bloggers for inspiration – especially Taste As You Go.

The next writing experiment will be modeled after Michelle’s work – but with our local food / CSA /family schedule/ community engagement variables.

WHAT?

I’m thinking about doing a regular Sunday blog post in which I share the menu plan for the week of dinners, with connections to seasonal produce and connecting ideas to what we do as a family. I have no aspirations to match Michelle’s blog. Her quality work is beyond my ability. I only want to document how I’m thinking of meal planning; and then reflecting on the plan. Why? Because life always happens when you’re making plans.

So here goes:
Monday – Curried Coconut Pumpkin Soup, crescent rolls.
Cello Lesson, B’s 2 hour ballet class, and S reprising his Lesson Center Rock Band Performance. And it’s going to be a week of cooler temperatures. Might as well start with a warm cup of something for dinner. It’s gotta be a quick to eat meal with all the shuttling going on.

Tuesday – Smoked Sausage, homemade baked beans, shredded carrot salad
Drum lesson, Middle School Vocal Concert, [my] Rock Band rehearsal. Reconstituting beans are a regular for my weekly food plans. One pound of dried beans usually stretch to three meals.

Wednesday – Spaghetti and Meatballs
Ballet, S- Young Playwrights Rehearsal, mandatory band trip meeting, Steve on business trip. That Prince Spaghetti commercial will never leave my head.

Thursday – BBQ Chicken, Baked Beans, Broccoli
Bel Canto rehearsal at Zoellner, 7pm middle school band concert, Steve still out on business. Deboned chicken thighs are typically the cheapest chicken that doesn’t require too much trimming for quick sauté with a sauce. Add to left over beans, steam up some broccoli. Voilá.

Friday – Fish Tacos
Ballet class, Bach Festival. I’ll prep the ingredients for Steve to cook up when he gets home. There’s also a gathering of the 2012 Leadership Lehigh Valley class. Oh, maybe I can get a mocktail in some fancy stemware! Steve and I will not see each other until I come home after the last Bach concert of the night.

Saturday – Nacho Platter
Set up BFAC Arts Show, and move back and forth between that and the Bach Festival in morning/afternoon, late afternoon snack before Young Playwrights Festival. There will be eats at the festival. I may need to pack some snacks for the day so I can avoid stupid hangry eating.

Sunday – Weinerschnitzel, sauerkraut, Spaetzel, Green beans
BFAC Fine Arts Show. Yes, it’s Mother’s Day. Maybe my kids will surprise me when I get home from the festival with dessert. If not, making this dinner will be the way to relax after the week. After listening to all of that wonderful Bach music, I’ll be craving a German themed dinner.

Holy moley – we got a fun week ahead.

Breakfast options: Hard boiled egg, yogurt & fruit.
Lunch Options; Ploughman’s or Leftovers.

4 thoughts on “What I’m Eating – May 7

  1. Do you remember the jingle that went with the Prince advertising campaign? “Wednesday is Prince Day, up and down the street …”

  2. Catching up on blog reading… I’m honored you’re using Taste As You Go as inspiration to meal plan! I know it certainly has helped us stay on budget and be more efficient with our time (really, MY time) in the kitchen. Can’t wait to see what you’re planning in your house and to see where the new blogging project takes you! xo

    1. The new blogging project will include food ideas to connect to cultural experiences; just like we experimented with a few years ago. It’s going to be fun to explore more food lovers who share ideas, and help make connections for others.

Share your thoughts - I'd love to know them

