What I Saw – May 6

Ever have a day where two first time experiences happened that were totally opposite of each other? I’m still having a hard time wrapping my head around the day I just had.

All of it was spectacular.

This afternoon was my first concert with the Bel Canto Children’s Chorus. I got to hear all of the singers, meet the parents and delight in the sounds of a superb children’s choir. Musical choices were varied; but threaded together with a simple theme, “the joy of song.”

To hear this music in a beautiful church is to embrace the fleeting innocence of something so pure, it almost hurts.

I had just enough time to run home, check on the kids, and change my shoes before heading out to Steelstacks for the virginal show of “Air Sex.”

Yes, you read that right. Air. Sex. It was….. an experience I’ll never forget. If you want to know more about it, read the description on the Steelstacks website. If you want to know more about it, there’s NSFW video on the touring show’s site.

I was asked to be one of the judges. Always happy to support the ideas of the programmers at Steelstacks. They are risk takers; something that keeps pushing our little community into new experiences. We’re always better for it.

I met two new people tonight, Elektra and Amy. I shared an experience with a room full of strangers. We all laughed, we cheered, we forgot ourselves and our troubles. I hope I get to share more experiences like this.

Taking both experiences of today – I hope I get to have more days like this. I love this little town.

***
46 of 100

 

Share your thoughts - I'd love to know them

