What I’m thinking about – April 11

A couple of weeks ago, I had a job interview. There were some typical questions about what my vision would be for the position. There was also the old chestnut favorite, “Tell us about your strengths and weaknesses.”

I have a few standard responses for this; but the go-to response for my weakness in a “job” is perhaps my greatest asset in the long run. I’m insatiably curious. I want to know about how situations come to be. What drives people to do things or not do things? I want to know origin stories. And how in the heck did that person think of that crazy idea?

When I was in college, I spent so much time with the same people in the music conservatory that I needed to find people studying other majors to change the topic of conversation. I started asking questions. I read different authors, saw different movies, listened to different music, tasted imported beer. The world opened a little more.

What may seem like spreading myself in too many directions, is really an interest in the diversity of the community. I’m not afraid to walk up to complete strangers and start a conversation. I’m not afraid to hear something I might not like. I’m not afraid to try something new.

The other question was, “Where do you see yourself in five years?” I’ve had too many curve balls thrown at me lately to even think that far ahead. The only thing I can hope for is to see my kids graduate high school and have their own ideas of what they’ll be doing next. But there are projects I’d like to have completed in five years. Stuff I want to make.

I started to reflect on where I was five years ago. Facebook is helping jog some memories with the “Time Capsule” feature. What I’ve done in the last five years is pretty good. I know what I can do, who I am, and what I offer. There’s a list of would’ve, could’ve and should’ves. Instead of regret, I can move those things to the “yet to be done” list moving forward. It’s up to me to choose to get up, contribute to the world, and choose to make each day as good as it can be.

And if I start to lose momentum, or the imposter syndrome takes over, please call my BS. Now, to get to all the deadlines and clear my conscience.

***
21 of 100

 

One thought on “What I’m thinking about – April 11

Share your thoughts - I'd love to know them

