Art and Conversations and Social Media

Last night I was tagged on a Facebook post by a friend who happened to take an interest in a Lehigh University Art Gallery (a.k.a, LUAG) exhibit of historical photographs on view in Maginnes Hall. I’ll use the magic of screen capture to share the post:

FB convo starter copy

Before I address the critique, I have to say UP FRONT how glad I am that someone SAW something in the work and the lables. He was looking carefully and intently at works of art that communicate a part of Lehigh and Bethlehem’s history. I’m delighted to have the following response. I hope I get more queries like the above. I delight in the research.

Point #1 – “Artusians”

Here is the timeline in question. Note the line that begins with “Early 1900s. I think the person read the word, “Asturian.”

2015-09-28 15.59.40

Asturians were from northern Spain. Here’s a bit form Wikipedia.

Asturias, a northern Spanish region on the Cantabrian Sea (Bay of Biscay), has been a center of mining and metallurgy for thousands of years. Between 1900 and 1924, thousands of Spaniards emigrated from Asturias to the United States. Many of those immigrating were skilled workers who followed the zinc, coal, and other heavy industry to the New World. Others were led by family ties, a desire to avoid military service, or the promise of adventure.

These Asturian immigrants established an informal but lively network which connected Spain, Cuba, Florida, Indiana, Kansas, Missouri, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, California, and other locations within the US.

I found an interesting Asturian – American Migration Forum. So there’s that.

The next observation of “Arial.” I was only able to locate this label, where it seems to be spelled correctly. Granted, I was running through the exhibit pretty quickly this afternoon, so I may have missed the one in question… Maybe the curatorial staff corrected it quickly after I sent them the notice of the FB discussion last night? I’m sure they saw it in their email first thing this morning.

2015-09-28 16.07.48

In the Facbeook discussion, there was also mention of some St. Michael’s cemetery oddities. To further the crowdsourcing conversation, here are the images and the labels:

 

I hope I’ve connected the lables to the right images. Again, ran through the exhibit – so deepest apologies if these are mixed up. If they are, I know our Lehigh University Art Gallery (LUAG) curatorial staff will help me match them properly.

So in the examination of the images and the lables, if you see something interesting or have questions, please add your comments below. I’m really enjoying this discussion!

2015-09-28 16.04.12And while we’re on the concept of crowdsourcing – here’s an image we need help identifying. This is a Lehigh Campus Police Officer. Any ideas who might know how this person is? If you do, or if you have any questions, comments or criticisms, the staff of the Lehigh University Art Galleries would love to talk directly with you. I believe their phone number and website are posted on each exhibit. But here is the LUAG contact in case you feel compelled for direct communication.

(610) 758-3615 general number. Staff Contacts (direct phone and emails here)

I’m so grateful that my friend tagged me on his post. I’m even more grateful that he liked the exhibit and encouraged all of his friends to see it as well. “Revisiting South Bethlehem: 150 years of Photography from the LUAG Teaching Collection” will be on view in the DUBOIS GALLERY of Maginnes Hall through May 18, 2016 in celebration of Lehigh University’s Sesquicentennial.

Share your thoughts - I'd love to know them

