Future and past

Today I saw a wonderful glimpse of the future. One of the students who did the Creative Learning Portfolio research project with me this past summer presented the idea to a lecture hall full of her homework club peers.

She was clear. She was inspiring. She was brilliant.

I couldn’t have been more proud to see these students take on creative learning in their own terms and encourage others to do the same. I hope this mind set (she even used those words) will catch on. Next is to make the activity ideas more accessible and sharable, and to have all who feel inspired to share their ideas with the group. Also, bring local artists into the after school home work clubs.

This idea could actually be taking off! This is my future.

***

The long day ended with orchestra rehearsal. It’s concert week, so we get one more rehearsal tomorrow before a pair of evening concerts on the weekend. Beethoven Violin Concerto, Tchaikovsky Overture ot Romeo and Juliet, Schubert’s Unfinished Symphony and a long, low C on the contra. I’ve performed each of these pieces at some point in my career, some more than once. The music is familiar, the musical challenges haven’t changed. This is my past.

I’m privileged to still be standing in both future and past.

Share your thoughts - I'd love to know them

