Micro sabbatical

There are a few faculty privileges that I do not have as a college administrator. My adjunct faculty status only grants me the opportunity to share my knowledge with the two courses I teach. I don’t officially advise students, yet somehow, they find me to ask advice. Thankfully, I don’t serve on faculty committees. But wait, I do serve on committees- scratch that.

There is only one privilege I wish I had: sabbatical. I’d love to be released from regular duty for a semester to focus all of my work energy to my research. Since that won’t happen (or until I retire or worse – into eternal sabbatical), I’ll need to fabricate time to advancing the discipline and practice of arts integration in higher education.

Sabbatical is not all sleeping in and sweat pants. One has to publish at the end of it. So if I can carve out two days a month without assignments, grading, or Girl Scouts- I’ll aim for an article.

Anyone got a quiet cabin in the woods available for a Saturday in November?

Share your thoughts - I'd love to know them

